Mayor salutes the work of the Seymour Agricultural Society

Cherie Matthews, Pam Beerens, Jason Ronald, Emma Henne, Mitchell Shire Mayor Bill Chisholm, Anne Davidson and Belinda Scott at the Seymour Agricultural and Pastoral Society Annual General Meeting.​

Mitchell Shire Mayor Bill Chisholm paid tribute to the longevity of the Seymour Agricultural and Pastoral Society at its annual general meeting last month.

The meeting took place at the Ken Hall Pavilion, Kings Park Seymour on February 28.

Cr Chisholm said how fortunate the community is to have a team of dedicated volunteers to organize the annual Seymour Show and carry on other activities throughout the year.

He said the Mitchell Shire had many community groups that contributed to the municipality, but the society was the oldest of them all.

Cr Chisholm also spoke about ongoing projects in the county and the need for rural and small business interests to be represented on the council.

Company president Jason Ronald said he regretted it had been two years without the Seymour Show, but hoped the 2022 event would be bigger and better than ever.

He reported on the official opening of the new agricultural pavilion in Kings Park, jointly funded by the council and the federal government.

He also mentioned the continued success of the scholarship program, the return of Tastes of the Goulburn later this year, the Working Sheep Dog Club competition in late March, and federal and state government support with grants.

Other items of note were the refurbishment of the company’s office, the successful sale of fruit fly traps and refills, and continued involvement with Seymour Alternative Farming Expo and Victorian Wine Awards.

Mr. Ronald also paid tribute to the hard work of Secretary Pam Beerens and Treasurer Emma Henne.

The following individuals were re-elected to their positions: Jason Ronald, President; Anne Davidson and Stephen Koch, vice-presidents and Emma Henne, treasurer.

New members elected were Cherie Matthews, Belinda Scott and Jacob Heard, with James Anderson, Glenn Barry and Gay Lewis remaining members.

Amalia H. Mercado