The Royal Northern Agricultural Society calls for applications

The Royal Northern Agricultural Society has called for entries for its annual awards.

The society awards a number of prizes each year to recognize members of the farming community in the north of Scotland.

RNA secretary, Alison Argo, is calling for entries for the company’s four main awards.

She asked anyone interested in nominating a friend or colleague for an award to email them a quote explaining why they should win by Saturday, July 23.

The Press and Newspaper Award is given to a public figure or personality for service to agriculture.

Last year’s recipient was Jim Royan, who hails from Elgin and has a long career in the butcher and red meat business.

Meanwhile, the local award, sponsored by ANM Group, is given to a non-public figure who has made an outstanding contribution to the progress of the industry.

The 2021 award was given to Sandra Buchan Lyons in recognition of her work integrating agriculture into her teachings at Kemnay Academy, where she works as a senior science teacher.

The David Argo Award is given to an unsung hero employed in the sector, and the 35 and Under Award, sponsored by the SRUC, is given to someone in this age group who has demonstrated contribution and a significant achievement to agriculture.

The 2021 winner of the David Argo award was famed Laurencekirk hauler Douglas Mitchell, who has run his company – DF Mitchell – for nearly 50 years, while the 35 and under award went to the manager of the Huntly pig farm , Chloe Shorten.

A number of prizes will also be awarded to rising stars in the agricultural sector with special prizes awarded to agricultural students and apprentices.

All awards will be presented at the annual RNAS Awards Luncheon, which will take place on Friday 4 November at Jury’s Inn, Aberdeen Airport.

Nominations for the awards can be emailed to Ms. Argo at [email protected]

IN PICTURES: Agriculture stars honored at RNAS Awards

Already subscribed? Login

[Royal Northern Agricultural Society calls for award entries]


Amalia H. Mercado